//
you're reading...
nanowrimo2015, writing

Final NaNo Update!

Well there you have it, folks! I have completed the 2015 National Novel Writing Month challenge of 50,000 words of a brand new novel written in the month of November. As of yesterday, I had 50,153 words total which officially concludes my participation in this year’s NaNo! I can honestly say that I’m thrilled I finished the challenge at all, let alone a couple of days early! Fifth time’s the charm, right? ;o)

Now, that’s not to say that the novel itself is finished because it is farrr from being done. At the moment I’ve got 10 complete chapters and 3 partially done thanks to that “wait, that’s not the real beginning” false start that I had the second week in. So I will optimistically say I’m about a third of the way through the novel.

Of course, if you take that to its logical conclusion, that means the final novel will be somewhere around 150k words and that’s… insane!! Like, I’m not exactly known for being economical with my word choices to begin with, unless I’m writing a script, but come on! That’s 3 books worth of words according to NaNo. What even better is that my original outline still has at least 3 or 4 additional books worth of material to get through. I’m a little annoyed with my subconscious, because this was supposed to be a one-and-done, not another damn series!

I’m going to put this one away for a while because I have to finish my Wedding sequel! I mean, I’m halfway done with the thing so it shouldn’t take me long to finish it up. It’s been weighing on me the entire month of November and having something hanging over your head is a real plague on the creativity, lemme tell ya. It’s also time to write a script that’s been on the back-burner for a couple of years, one that I think is a really good Nicholls candidate and that’ll be here before I know it. And then there’s my lesbian cozy mystery novel also at the halfway mark and that needs to be completed! And let’s not forget the sequel to Fluctuations, which is done but needs editing…

So December will be my clean-up month. I’m going to continue the writing nightly habit, which I’d gotten seriously out of the habit thanks to tv and, well, laziness. heh. I’m going to make myself check in with all of you on 12/15 and 12/30 so there’s some accountability going on. I found that was a big help in keeping me on track. And you all seemed to enjoy the updates, so at least I’m not talking just to hear myself talk… I think. ;o)

That’s all for now! Happy writing everyone!

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

