//
you're reading...
movie review, movies

Ghostbusters – Review – No spoilers

ghostbusters

(I don’t generally do 2 posts in 2 days, but wanted to get this out before the weekend)

Like many people, I was wary of this movie when it was announced last year as a remake. I didn’t think it could possibly compare to the original, which I absolutely adore. At one point, I could play all the parts forwards and backwards. When I heard about the cast, I began to thaw a little. I only knew Melissa McCarthy and Kristen Wiig because I don’t watch SNL, never have. But I figured that if they were on SNL as regulars, Leslie Jones and Kate McKinnon had to be really good comedians.

I wasn’t at all surprised by the outrage that the cast would be all women. I was surprised that people were surprised by the vitriol, but then, most people don’t pay attention to what’s happening to women online and in the gaming world so I probably shouldn’t have been. I was furious that assholes on twitter so ganged up and abused Leslie Jones that she quit using it, but not surprised by that either.

Cue up the first preview… all my doubts were laid to rest. I saw that teaser and started bouncing up and down in anticipation. Not because they were all women, but because it looked freakin awesome! It’s been a while since I was so excited about a non-franchise movie (existing that is, since this is really a new series, not a conventional reboot with the same characters replaced with new actors) that wasn’t in the horror genre.

I deliberately didn’t watch any other previews and muted/looked away from commercials after that teaser so I could be as surprised as possible. And let me tell you, avoiding spoilers is harrrrd when half your feed is super excited about something!

And then the release last weekend! The day had finally arrived! I went with 2 girlfriends (girls that are friends, not 2 actual girlfriends, mom) and was completely amazed by how awesome the movie was. It has action, plot, humor, character/actor chemistry, and crazy-awesome sfx! (How crazy-awesome? I’m going back this weekend to see it in 3D)

The characters made perfect sense in the greater ‘verse of the original franchise, but didn’t copy them. Did they use archetypes (nerd/crazy nerd/straight-laced/salt of the earth)? Well sure, but who doesn’t? And the actors all did a wonderful job. I enjoyed the hell out of this movie! Lots of great one-liners, a fast pace, and pretty much everything you’d want in a tentpole flick.

You know what it didn’t have? Sex. As in, it didn’t use the women’s gender to “further” the plot. There was no romance. There were no sexy outfits (well, aside from Kate rocking the kickass overalls hero outfit with her guns). Other people have said it more eloquently than me, but we need more of these movies. The kind that show women in “unusual” roles, even though the only unusual thing about these roles was them chasing ghosts.

As a nod to the original, every single cast member (barring Harold Ramis, of course) got a cameo. Bill Murray had the longest, but they were all hilarious and awesome. And there was a lovely shout out to Harold Ramis at the end. And speaking of the end, stay until the very, very, very end.

So there you have it! Go and do yourself a favor and see it ASAP! I know I’m going back… a couple more times. ;o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Ghostbusters – Review – No spoilers

  1. Great review. Can’t wait to see the movie.

    Posted by A. L. Kaplan | July 23, 2016, 4:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

