//
you're reading...
NaNoWriMo2016, writing

NaNo 2016 (National Novel Writing Month)

 

http://nanowrimo.org/

Here we are again! The start of a brand new National Novel Writing Month! For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo (http://nanowrimo.org/) takes place every November and you “win” by hitting the 50,000 word mark for your novel, even if that doesn’t complete the novel itself. There are writer forums of all kinds and it’s a real community, even beyond every November.

After five years of participating, I finally completed NaNo last year and was SO excited! Granted, the 50k words I completed (52k, I think?) only came about halfway to finishing the actual novel, but hey. Still not too shabby!

So what’s on tap this year? The sequel to last year’s novel, Burn It Down: A Book of Brothers, Vol. 1. I not only finished Burn Vol. 1, but it’s been professionally edited and about to make the agent rounds! I’m super excited about and proud of Burn. Time to get the jump on Burn Vol. 2.

The goal is to hit far more than the 50,000 word mark NaNo officially demands. For 2016, I aim to finish the entire novel, no matter how many words that takes. Given that Vol. 1 amounted to 102,000 words and I didn’t even finish using up all the outline of material that I’d planned, who knows how long book 2 will end up being?

For those who didn’t follow my painful writing journey last year, Burn It Down is a novel about 2 boys who become brothers-by-choice in a highly class-ruled world. My challenge in “selling” Burn will be that while book 1 is about them growing up, it’s not a YA as the rest of the series follows them throughout their lives as they navigate first the military and then the kingdom hierarchy and the world at large. It gets dark and violent at times, so it’s very not my usual tone of voice for writing. This makes it both a real challenge and heart wrenching at times.

My NaNo Prep so far:

Decided on what to write – considering I’ve got 5 different “I need to write that” projects and 3 sequels I need to do like right now, this was a big one. It’s a good thing Works In Progress aren’t allowed or that number would be tripled.

Outlined the shit out of book 2 – also a big one since last year’s outline ended up being re-written a week into the month.

Cleared off my kitchen table – a place to write is definitely necessary

Put a “write” reminder on my phone for 9pm every day – this gives me enough time to get home from work, collapse for an hour, eat dinner, and then get into the writing zone before it gets too late.

Updated my NaNo page – you gotta have a NaNo page! Feel free to buddy me there if you want. My handle is NMGriffis

Things I Don’t Have to Prepare:

World Building – THANK GOD (though I will admit this file gets larger with every writing).

Character Sketches – THANK GOD (though there will be new characters, most of them should be minor enough not to need their own bios.

And there we go! I am ready spaghetti to get back into the writing groove and plow through November with so much writing I end up with a completed novel by the end of the month.

I will be writing weekly update posts here on the blog and maybe put in some snippets for you all to read while I’m at it.

Wish me luck / pray for me! It’s gonna be a longggg great month!

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “NaNo 2016 (National Novel Writing Month)

  1. Good luck and happy writing.

    Posted by A. L. Kaplan | October 27, 2016, 7:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 628 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

