//
you're reading...
NaNoWriMo2016, writing

NaNoWriMo 2016 Round-up

December 1. The day to revisit NaNo and see what went right and what went wrong.

Regardless of completing or not, the best thing about participating in NaNo was that it challenged me to come up with something completely new. I decided at the last minute that I didn’t want to work on my dark, epic fantasy sequel because, well, it was dark and I wanted something light and fun that would be “easy” to work on for a whole month. In doing so, I created a world that I’ve only seen glimpses of (had the original idea a couple/three years ago, but couldn’t figure out what the hell to do with it) and really write something new. Plus I haven’t don’t YA before (aside from a halfhearted attempt at a YA paranormal romance a couple of years ago that I should really get back to) so the new genre was also fun to explore.

What went right:

I picked a story I absolutely loved writing! It’s such fun with great characters and a really interesting/original concept. When I actually get a chance to sit down and wite it, the action just flows from my brain, to my fingers, to the page. It’s awesome!! You guys are going to have so much fun reading it once it’s done!

I wrote the outline.

I did my world building.

I wrote out all the character sketches.

I wrote every day… for the first week.

What went wrong:

Everything else. Heh.

As a friend brought up to me last week, why is November, of all months, the month to hold this event? Even without the election, there’s Thanksgiving and all the crazy prep leading up to it and the actual day of, plus all the holiday parties and dinners and get-togethers and stress of all of the above… and my family’s on the other coast even!

Really, if it had just been the holiday, I would’ve been fine. I completed it last year, after all, and we had Thanksgiving then, too. But the election. Holy crap, the fucking election. I swear to god I was an emotional wreck for over a week after it happened. I could do nothing but rage at the result and that’s not exactly conducive to writing. That was Week Two and a bit.

Week Three, I came down with a mother of all colds (or flu, never sure which it is) that laid me out for almost the entire week. I was even off work for three days. I could barely move, let alone write.

Last week? Well. Last week was Thanksgiving and I started writing again, but then had a massive change at work that again threw me off my emotional balance and was in no real fit state to write again.

So I didn’t complete NaNoWriMo this year, but I’m not going to count it as a failure. My final word count tallies at 14,485 and that’s not too shabby considering all that went on with me in November.

Things to consider for next year:

Make sure to check in on the blog every week. I did that last year, didn’t do it this year, and I think it made a real difference between completing and not. Accountability, doncha know!

Ignore the outside world and write. Obviously, if I get sick again (as seems to happen in November *grumbles*) then I won’t be writing, but outside distractions like politics and work shouldn’t impact my writing schedule.

NO TELEVISION OR INTERNET!! Seriously. The distraction level of minutiae is unbelievable, though I’m sure you all know that. (I should also just ignore my friends for the month, too, since that adds to the distractions. In a fun way, of course, but still.)

Major props to those who had insane Novembers and still managed to make their 50k or more. I know there are a shit-ton of you out there. Congrats!! I’d love to hear how everyone else did! 😀

Happy writing, everyone!

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

