//
you're reading...
tv

The Privatization of Star Trek

When I first heard that CBS was going to make a new Trek tv show, I was thrilled. I’m a huge Trekkie. Janeway is my personal hero, Picard the man I most admire, and Spock a soulmate. I followed all the casting announcements like crazy. I admire all the showrunners and writers and actors involved.

Then I heard that CBS was going to air it solely on their online streaming service. I was puzzled at first, because that would limit the number of fans and advertising dollars. Why would CBS do that to themselves and the show? Didn’t they want to give it the best possible chance at success? We all know that just because it’s Trek, doesn’t mean it’s always going to be a huge hit.

I didn’t think about it much because it hadn’t even aired yet. Wasn’t even close, at that point. I figured CBS would come to their senses and change their minds… only they didn’t. And the longer this sales decision sat with me, the angrier I got.

Star Trek is no longer available to the poor, or even the working poor. It won’t reach children who dream of the stars but are ground down by life and their circumstances. It won’t be a role model to women of color who can’t afford to pay to watch someone represent them in an important role on television, like Captain of a starship. It won’t give hope to LGBTQ youth (or adults for that matter) that maybe, one day in the future, they’ll be treated like everyone else instead of ostracized by their sexuality.

Am I ascribing too much to a simple television show? I really don’t think so. Star Trek’s origination came from someone who wanted to challenge the status quo and shine a light on social issues. In order to do that, everyone needed to be able to see it. Granted, streaming wasn’t an option back then, but I believe Trek was too important to Mr. Roddenberry to limit its vision like this.

“But it’s only $5.99!” people keep saying. “It’s nothing!”

You know what? $6 is toilet paper. $6 is a school lunch. $6 is a box of pasta and bag of rice to make sure you eat for a few days. Sometimes, even $1 is the difference between having a bank account that’s not accumulating overdraft fees and getting sucked into the ever-deepening hole of fees and charges, let alone $5.99. That small amount that doesn’t matter to you? It matters a lot to the poor and working-poor.

I know that Trek’s a commodity. I’m not naïve. People need to make money in order to produce television, of course they do. I have zero problem with CBS making money. But they could make just as much, probably more, by airing Discovery live instead of online. They could double their fanbase by airing it live. This grasping after ever-more dollars at the expense of what Trek stood for leaves me hollow.

This isn’t going to change anything, but I had to get it off my chest.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Privatization of Star Trek

  1. I’m a huge Star Trek fan, Voyager especially, and it saddedned me when it was announced that Discovery could only be watched via a paid subscription service. You’re right $6 IS a packet of toilet paper and $1 CAN be the difference between falling into debt or not. When I was watching a Star Trek Voyager episode earlier this week I noticed that it was made in 1997 – I was 16 at the time and I still love Janeway and co as much now as I did then, maybe I even more. It was my escape and still is. A chance to dream while still awake, and it’s so very sad that those who cannot afford a subscription service are missing out on something quite wonderful. It angers me.

    Posted by E.L. Wicker | November 13, 2017, 8:46 am
  2. Reblogged this on alkaplan and commented:
    Nancy says it well. This pay to view decision is also why I haven’t bothered watching the pilot. There are plenty of other things to watch that aren’t going to cost me more money.

    Posted by A. L. Kaplan | November 13, 2017, 10:29 pm
  3. Agreed. This pay to view decision is also why I haven’t bothered watching the pilot. There are plenty of other things to watch that aren’t going to cost me more money.

    Posted by A. L. Kaplan | November 13, 2017, 10:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

